- High-Value Home Insurance
Compare High Value Home Insurance Providers in the UK
High-value home insurance covers UK properties with a rebuild cost above £1 million, or contents and valuables above £100,000, where standard policies cap out. Providers vary widely on rebuild cost caps, single-item limits, and how quickly cover can be arranged. This guide compares eight high net worth insurers, checked directly against their own policy documents.
Quick comparison of high value home insurance providers
| Provider | £25k+ item limit | Rebuild cost cap | Worldwide cover | Listed buildings | Accidental damage std. | Emergency & legal std. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rivr | ✓ | £3,000,000* | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Chubb Masterpiece | ✓ | Guaranteed | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Hiscox 606 | ✓ | Not published | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| NFU Mutual Bespoke | ✗ | Not published | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Stanhope | Varies | Varies by insurer | ✓ | ✓ | Varies | Varies |
| Aviva Refine Home | ✓ | Not published | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| John Lewis Specialist Home Insurance | ✗ | Not published | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✗ |
*£3,000,000 is the limit at Rivr for the standard online quote. Higher rebuild costs can be considered individually, subject to underwriting.
What counts as a high-value home?
There's no single legal threshold for a high-value home. In practice, though, a few signals tend to line up: a rebuild cost above roughly £1 million, contents worth more than £100,000, or a single item (a painting, a watch) worth £15,000 to £25,000. A listed building or unusual construction counts too, since a standard rebuild calculator can't price either one accurately.
Standard policies handle none of this well. A single item capped at £1,500 to £5,000 sounds like a technicality until a claim hinges on it, and a security warranty can be just as unforgiving, voiding cover over something as ordinary as an extended absence. And if the sum insured was never quite right, the shortfall shows up exactly when it can't be fixed.
High-value policies close these gaps, starting with the valuation itself: a professional sets the sum insured instead of a guess typed into a web form. Cover extends worldwide rather than being limited to the home itself. When something does go wrong, claims are handled by people who've dealt with a loss like it before.
How we assessed these providers
Every figure comes from each provider's own policy documents, their IPID or full policy wording, where published. Where a detail wasn't published, we've said so rather than estimating it.
- Broker-arranged policies (like Stanhope's) place cover with a panel of insurers, not one fixed underwriter. The exact policy only exists once an insurer's been matched to a specific client, so these figures reflect published guidance, not one document.
- No fixed prices. Quotes are arranged individually across this market. Terms reflect documents available as of September 2026 and should be confirmed before buying.
- Trustpilot and Reviews.io scores are included as an independent reference point. Most cover a provider's full product range rather than home insurance specifically. These should be taken as general trust signals rather than a specific home-insurance rating. Where a score belongs to the underlying underwriter rather than the customer-facing brand, that's stated directly next to it.
Rivr

Trustpilot score: 4.7/5
Best for: owners who want the speed of a digital quote without losing a named adviser to talk to
| Maximum property value insured | £3,000,000* |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | All risks, insured to the sum insured (not unlimited) |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | £25,000 |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | £25,000 |
| Valuables settlement basis | Market value at time of loss, with a fine art appreciation uplift |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes, subject to policy terms and limits |
| New acquisitions | Automatically covered for 60 days, up to 25% of the sum insured |
| Alternative accommodation | Up to 3 years |
| Liability cover | £5,000,000 property owner's liability; £10,000,000 employer's liability (domestic staff injury) |
| Unoccupancy period | 45 days |
*£3,000,000 is the limit for the standard online quote, not a hard cap. Higher rebuild costs can still be considered, subject to individual underwriting.
Rivr launched in 2024 with a clear premise: a fast digital quote and a named adviser don't have to be a choice. The quote itself takes minutes online. For anything more complicated, the same adviser picks up every time. Valuables settle at market value rather than an agreed figure, which suits a buyer who prioritises speed over locking in a price before a claim happens.
At a glance
- Underwriters: Accelerant Insurance UK Limited (A-, buildings, contents, and liability), ARAG Legal Expenses Insurance Company Limited (home emergency and legal expenses)
- Access: fully digital, quote and policy management online, with a dedicated adviser available
- Fees: no admin, cancellation, or mid-term adjustment fees. Monthly payment available through our premium finance partner, Bexhill, otherwise annual payment in full
- Home emergency cover: up to £1,500
- Legal protection: up to £150,000
- Listed buildings: dedicated cover for Grade II*, and Grade II listed homes in England and Wales, and equivalent listed categories in Scotland
- Typical eligibility: general contents worth over £100,000, or valuables together worth over £30,000
- Fine art and antiques valued in the last 3 years get up to 150% appreciation uplift.
Claims
Claims are managed online, alongside the rest of the policy. A dedicated specialist team and an adviser are on hand if the worst happens.
Quote process
Fully online: submit details on the property and cover needed, and get an instant online quote. A call with an adviser is available immediately afterwards to refine the quote if preferred. For rebuild costs above the standard £3,000,000 online limit, this call is where a higher figure gets considered individually.
Verdict
Rivr suits owners who want speed without losing the adviser relationship. It offers an instant online quote for high-value cover, while the other providers here start with a broker, an appraisal, or a local agent. Buildings, contents, and valuables sit under one policy rather than several.
Chubb Masterpiece

Trustpilot score: 4.2/5 (covers all of Chubb's personal insurance lines, not home insurance specifically)
Best for: unlimited rebuild cover and multiple or international properties on one policy
| Maximum property value insured | No maximum stated |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | All risks, no fixed cap on rebuild cost |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | £50,000, no cap if the item is individually scheduled |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | £25,000, no cap if individually scheduled |
| Valuables settlement basis | Agreed Value |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes |
| New acquisitions | 60 days, 25% of the sum insured; capped at £2m for fine art, £1m for other valuables |
| Alternative accommodation | Unlimited while the buildings are rebuilt |
| Property owners liability | £2m standard, up to £10m optional |
| Unoccupancy period | 60 days before cover for frozen-pipe damage is affected |
Chubb has been insuring fine homes for over a century. Every policy starts with a risk consultant visiting the property in person instead of a form filled in online. That's slower than a digital competitor, but it's also how Chubb can guarantee to rebuild a home to its original standard even if the cost runs past the sum insured. Liability defaults to £2m, and reaching £10m means asking for it specifically. Cover for frozen-pipe damage is also affected once a property has been unoccupied for 60 days.
At a glance
- Financial strength: AA (S&P), A++ (AM Best)
- Policy name: Chubb Masterpiece Home Policy (a higher "Signature" tier exists with roughly double the limits, for larger estates)
- Access: Independent broker only
- Contents threshold: £100,000+
- Family Protection: up to £100,000 (carjacking, aggravated burglary, aggravated assault, child abduction, air or road rage)
- Legal Expenses: up to £100,000, administered by ARAG
- Home Emergency: up to £2,000 for call-out charge, labour, parts, and materials
- Annual Travel Insurance: worldwide, including winter sports, up to £10,000,000 medical expenses per person and £10,000 cancellation cover per family member
Claims
Cash settlement or repair through your own supplier, policyholder's choice. Reported through the broker or a dedicated claims line.
Quote process
An in-person appraisal, arranged through a broker. No online quote.
Verdict
The in-person appraisal adds time upfront that a digital quote skips, but it's also what makes the unlimited rebuild guarantee credible. Chubb has seen the property firsthand; it isn't working from a number typed into a form.
Hiscox 606

Best for: owners with contents worth £150,000 or more who want a named claims handler on every case
| Maximum property value insured | Unlimited* |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | All risks |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | £50,000 |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | £25,000 |
| Valuables settlement basis | Market value at time of loss |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes, up to 60 days per trip |
| New acquisitions | Automatically covered for 25% of the sum insured |
| Alternative accommodation | Up to 3 years |
| Property owners liability | Not stated; set per policy schedule |
| Unoccupancy period | 60 days (frozen-pipe exclusion, October to April) |
*Marketed as unlimited "for most clients," per Hiscox's own description of its relaunched policy wording.
A £150,000 contents threshold marks the entry point for Hiscox's 606 policy, its dedicated high-value home product. Every claim gets a named, dedicated handler rather than a general queue. Valuables settle at market value on the date of loss. There's no value agreed in advance. New purchases are covered automatically too, up to 25% of the sum insured, as long as they're reported within 90 days of acquisition.
At a glance
- Eligibility: contents worth over £150,000, including art, jewellery, and valuables
- Underwritten by: Hiscox Insurance Company Limited, arranged by Hiscox Underwriting Ltd, with home emergency cover through ARAG and family legal protection through DAS
- Access: direct through Hiscox or via a broker
- Optional add-ons: personal cyber cover, worldwide family travel insurance, renovation and extension cover, motor insurance, each priced separately
Claims
Every claim is assigned a named handler. Hiscox calls its own claims team award-winning. That's Hiscox's own description, not an outside rating.
Quote process
Available directly through the Hiscox Private Client team or through a broker. No online quote process.
Verdict
The £25,000 and £50,000 notification thresholds work well if valuables are kept up to date as they're bought, since the automatic cover keeps pace. They work less well for anyone who'd rather not think about it: a policy with a single higher blanket limit needs less ongoing admin.
NFU Mutual Bespoke

Trustpilot score: 4/5 (covers all NFU Mutual products, not home insurance specifically)
Best for: owners who want a local agent relationship and no time cap on alternative accommodation
| Maximum property value insured | Not stated; entry threshold is contents over £150,000 |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | Broad cover with specific exclusions, rather than a named-perils list |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | £30,000 |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | £10,000 under ordinary Contents (higher if the dedicated Valuables section is purchased) |
| Valuables settlement basis | Agreed Value (named items); current value (unspecified items) |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes for fine art and collections, no day-limit stated |
| New acquisitions | Fine art: 60 days, 30%. Contents/other valuables: 60 days, 25% |
| Alternative accommodation | No overall claim limit stated |
| Property owners liability | Not stated; set per policy schedule |
| Unoccupancy period | 60 days |
NFU Mutual won't sell you this policy online. Every Bespoke customer works with a local agent instead, reflecting the company's mutual, member-owned structure. Alternative accommodation has no stated cap. Fine art also gets its own new-acquisitions allowance: 30% of the cover limit, as long as new pieces are reported within 60 days.
At a glance
- Eligibility: contents worth over £150,000
- Structure: mutual, member-owned insurer, not sold through comparison sites
- Access: through a local NFU Mutual agent
- Underinsurance protection: automatic uplift to full rebuild cost for buildings, or 125% of replacement cost for contents, if a professional valuation was carried out in the last 3 years
- Home emergency cover: up to £1,500 per emergency, administered by ARAG
- Legal expenses: administered by ARAG, requires a 51%+ prospect of success
Claims
Reported through your local agent or NFU Mutual's claims line. Fine art and collections are settled at agreed value for named items, or current value at the date of damage for unspecified pieces.
Quote process
Arranged through a local NFU Mutual agent. No online quote process.
Verdict
That underinsurance protection, full rebuild cost or 125% of contents, only applies with a recent valuation. The policy alone doesn't get you there; getting the valuation done does.
Stanhope

Reviews.io score: 4.8/5
Best for: owners who'd rather have a broker shop across specialist insurers than commit to one fixed product upfront
| Maximum property value insured | Not stated; arranged to the client's own sum insured |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | All risks, stated explicitly on Stanhope's own site |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | Varies by insurer |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | Varies by insurer |
| Valuables settlement basis | Varies by insurer |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes, usually up to 60 days per trip, unlimited trips per policy period |
| New acquisitions | Varies by insurer |
| Alternative accommodation | Varies by insurer |
| Property owners liability | Varies by insurer |
| Unoccupancy period | Varies by insurer |
Four separate signals qualify a client for Stanhope's high-value route, and meeting just one is enough. Stanhope doesn't underwrite its own policy either. It places clients with a panel of specialist insurers, so limits on liability, alternative accommodation, and single items depend on which insurer ends up on the schedule.
At a glance
- Eligibility: rebuild cost over £1.5 million, general contents over £150,000, valuables over £50,000, or already paying more than £2,000 a year for standard cover
- Structure: broker, not an underwriter, sourcing cover from a panel of specialist insurers
- Multiple properties can be added to one policy
- Rebuild valuations arranged through a partner, Rebuild Cost Assessment, at a discounted rate for Stanhope clients
Claims
Negotiated by Stanhope on the client's behalf with whichever insurer holds the policy.
Quote process
Arranged through a Stanhope adviser, following a discovery phone call, who then approaches the underlying insurers and relays their quotes to the client once received back a few days later. Not available as a self-serve online quote.
Verdict
Comparing Stanhope to a single named insurer in this table isn't a like-for-like comparison. The comparison that matters happens later, once a specific underwriter is proposed for the quote.
Aviva Private Clients

Trustpilot score: 4.3/5 (covers all of Aviva's UK products, not home insurance specifically)
Best for: owners with a £1m–£3m rebuild who want unlimited art cover across multiple UK properties
| Maximum property value insured | £1m–£3m target rebuild range; not a fixed policy cap |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | All risks, with an uplift of up to 125% available with a recent valuation |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | Unlimited. Any specified item worth £50,000+ requires a valuation |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | £30,000 jewellery / £35,000 other valuables per unspecified item; £250,000 category total for jewellery and watches |
| Valuables settlement basis | Specified items paid at amount insured, up to 125% if market value exceeds it and a valuation or receipt is provided |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes; specific per-trip terms aren't published separately by tier |
| New acquisitions | 25% of category sum insured, or £50,000 fine art / £25,000 other, whichever is less, reported within 45 days |
| Alternative accommodation | Up to £500,000 per occurrence, capped at 3 years |
| Property owners liability | Up to £10,000,000 available; not a single default figure, set per policy schedule |
| Unoccupancy period | 60 consecutive days |
Aviva's Private Clients range runs across four tiers. Refine Home, covered above, is the closer match to Rivr's own £3m ceiling. Smart Home sits below it, for a single main UK residence only. Smart Home prices jewellery and watches, and art and collectables, as two separate £100,000 category choices, each with a £15,000 single-article limit. Refine's art cover is unlimited by comparison. Grade 1 and Grade 2 listed buildings are covered under Refine Home, though payment is capped at the amount shown on the schedule.
At a glance
- Underwriter: Aviva Insurance Limited
- Access: broker-arranged, through Aviva's own trading platform
- Refine Home only: up to 5 UK locations, including Channel Islands, Isle of Man, and Northern Ireland
- Building works notification threshold: £100,000
Claims
Reported via a 24/7 concierge claims line (0800 559 3951) or email. Aviva quotes two different claims satisfaction figures across its own pages, 97% and 99%, from two different survey periods; neither is independently verified.
Quote process
Broker-arranged through Aviva Private Clients Online. No direct public quote.
Verdict
Refine Home's unlimited art cover and £1m–£3m targeting make it the relevant tier for most readers of this guide. Its new-acquisitions cover is tighter than the general Private Clients range suggests, 25% of sum insured or £50,000 for fine art, whichever is less. Smart Home only makes sense below that range, where any single item tops out at £15,000 inside a £100,000 category choice. Neither tier offers a self-serve quote the way Rivr does. Both put Aviva in the same broker-only category as Chubb.
John Lewis Specialist Home Insurance

Underwriter's Trustpilot score: Covéa Insurance plc, 4.3/5
Best for: owners of listed or pre-1800 buildings, or high-value belongings, who want a clearly stated liability limit
| Maximum property value insured | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Buildings cover basis | All risks, stated explicitly |
| Fine art single-item limit (unspecified) | £25,000 |
| Jewellery and other valuables single-item limit (unspecified) | £15,000 |
| Valuables settlement basis | Sum insured shown in the schedule for specified items* |
| Worldwide cover for valuables | Yes, with no time limit on how long items can be away from home |
| New acquisitions | 60 days to notify, up to 20% of the sum insured |
| Alternative accommodation | Up to 5 years |
| Property owners liability | £10,000,000 for most claims† |
| Unoccupancy period | 60 days if simply unlived-in |
*Applies if a valuation under 5 years old exists; otherwise defaults to current market value. A 125% uplift applies if a recent valuation shows the value has increased.
†A £5,000,000 sub-limit applies to a domestic employee's terrorism-related injury claim.
£10,000,000 is the standard liability limit under John Lewis's Specialist Home policy, a fixed figure rather than one set per individual schedule. The product sits apart from John Lewis's mainstream Bronze, Silver, and Gold tiers, aimed specifically at listed buildings, homes built before 1800, or belongings worth more than £40,000 in total. It's underwritten by Covéa Insurance, not John Lewis itself, which matters for reviews too: general John Lewis home insurance reviews found online mostly reflect the mainstream tiers, not the Specialist product Covéa runs directly.
At a glance
- Eligibility: a listed building, one built before 1800, belongings worth over £40,000 in total, or a single item over £20,000
- Underwriters: Covéa Insurance plc (buildings, contents, liability), ARAG Legal Expenses Insurance Company Limited (optional Legal Protection section)
- Excess waiver: no excess on claims over £15,000, except for subsidence, escape of water, or if the home is unoccupied
- Building works notification threshold: £75,000
- Legal expenses (optional): up to £100,000
Claims
Reported directly to Covéa, who target a response within two working days and payment of agreed claims within two working days of settlement. That's Covéa's own target, not a figure any outside body checks. A dedicated claims specialist manages each case.
Quote process
The Specialist tier requires speaking with an underwriting expert rather than an instant online quote, unlike John Lewis's standard Bronze, Silver, and Gold tiers.
Verdict
John Lewis Specialist makes a stronger case for the building itself (a listed status or pre-1800 construction) than for a large standalone collection. Its automatic single-item limits, £25,000 for art and £10,000 for jewellery, sit on the lower side. A serious collection would need much of it individually scheduled from day one.
Home Protect

Home Protect calls one of its own pages "high-value home insurance," but states plainly that its product is not a High-Net-Worth (HNW) product: "It should be understood though that our product is not a High-Net-Worth (HNW) product." A standard policy covers buildings up to £1,000,000, underwritten by AXA Insurance UK plc, for homes that mainstream insurers reject for non-standard reasons, a flat roof, a history of subsidence, an Airbnb let, rather than for high-value properties or collections.
It does note it "may be able to increase your rebuild cover or contents limits based on your circumstances." That happens through individual review after a standard quote, not through a published high-value product with its own limits, settlement basis, or eligibility criteria, the way Rivr, Chubb, Hiscox, NFU Mutual, Stanhope, Aviva, and John Lewis all have.
At a glance
- Home Protect's Trustpilot score: 4.5/5
- Underwriter's Trustpilot score: AXA UK, 4.4/5 (covers all AXA UK products, not home insurance specifically)
- Standard buildings cover: up to £1,000,000
- Underwriter: AXA Insurance UK plc
- Underwriting model: automated, designed to quote for non-standard risks most mainstream insurers decline outright
- Home emergency: included as standard, targeting a 4-hour engineer response, or 2 hours for a serious leak (self-reported)
Quote process
A standard quote online in around 10 minutes. If the property or contents exceed standard limits, the next step is a conversation with Home Protect's team, not an instant high-value quote.
Verdict
Home Protect is worth a call if a property has been declined elsewhere for a non-standard reason and the value involved is close to, rather than far beyond, its £1,000,000 standard buildings cap. Home Protect isn't a substitute for the other seven providers here if you need a fine art collection covered, a listed building insured, or a rebuild cost well into seven figures. It has no published product built for any of that
How to choose a high-value home insurance provider
Buying at this level is different from renewing a standard policy, and a few habits separate a good outcome from an expensive surprise at claim time.
Accurate valuation: Rebuild cost for the buildings, and a professional valuation for anything you'd want individually scheduled. Every other figure in the policy, the sum insured, the settlement, the underinsurance protection, is only as good as this starting point.
Settlement basis: Agreed Value fixes the payout in advance; market value is set on the day of the loss. Work out which one applies before comparing quotes. A claim is the wrong moment to find out for the first time.
Unspecified single-item limit: "Worldwide" and "all risks" describe the scope of cover. They don't tell you the ceiling before an item needs listing separately, and that figure varies enormously between insurers.
Unoccupancy terms: Worth reading closely if you travel or split time across homes. Leaving a property unoccupied for too long changes what's actually covered, and the gap between providers is often measured in weeks.
Who underwrites the policy: A brand, a broker, and the insurer carrying the risk can be three different things. The Insurance Product Information Document names the underwriter directly.
Claims process: Ask whether there's a named handler or a general queue, how settlement is chosen between cash and repair, and how disputes over an item's value get resolved. How long a claim actually takes varies a lot between insurers, and these details are easy to overlook until a claim is underway.
Valuations over time: A sum insured that was accurate at the start of a policy can fall behind within a few years if a collection or a property's rebuild cost moves and nobody tells the insurer.
Price versus terms: None of the providers in this guide publish a fixed premium; cover at this level is quoted individually. The policy's terms are worth more attention than the headline price.
Questions to ask your insurer before you sign
- Is there a cap on the property's rebuild cost, or is it unlimited?
- Agreed value or market value for my valuables?
- What's the single-item limit before something needs listing separately?
- How many days do I have to add a new purchase?
- How many days can the home sit empty before cover changes?
- Who's the actual underwriter, not just the name on the website?
- Broker with one insurer, or placed across a panel?
- Named claims handler, or a general queue?
- Does listed-building cover pay out at a fixed schedule amount, or the real cost?
- Is the liability limit fixed now, or set only after I sign up?
- Any admin, cancellation, or mid-term fees beyond the premium?
Buildings and home insurance for those with more to protect
For higher-value homes, buildings cover reaches £3 million as standard, with higher limits by exception, and contents cover up to £500,000, including extra protection for jewellery and other valuables. Quotes come back in minutes, reviewed by a human underwriter before your policy is confirmed, all managed from one account with an adviser on hand when you need one.
Corrections: every figure reflects publicly available terms as of the stated date. Contact us to report any inaccuracy for review.